Kuching: According to Sarawak State Disaster Management Committee (SDMC), four new COVID-19 community clusters were announced in Sarawak today, including Longhouses.

It said in a statement that the Sungai Seprai 2 cluster was detected in Tatau after 12 persons tested positive, while the Jalan Bintulu-Miri 3 cluster in Bintulu reported 45 positive cases.

In Beluru, the Chama Ajay cluster comprises 27 positive cases and the Ulu Lubai cluster in Limbang has reported 16 positive cases.

Sarawak today reported 3,619 new Covid-19 cases, most of which were asymptomatic or mildly symptomatic and eight cases associated with lung infections requiring oxygen and the use of ventilators.

Eight deaths were also recorded involving persons aged 39 to 97 with a history of chronic diseases, taking the cumulative figure to 697. – Barnama